Bernard Gerts moralische Regeln

„Wir haben nun also zehn Regeln:
1. Du sollst nicht töten.
2. Du sollst keine Schmerzen verursachen.
3. Du sollst nicht unfähig machen.
4. Du sollst nicht Freiheit oder Chancen entziehen.
5. Du sollst nicht Lust entziehen.
6. Du sollst nicht täuschen.
7. Du sollst Deine Versprechen halten.
8. Du sollst nicht betrügen.
9. Du sollst dem Gesetz gehorchen.
10. Du sollst Deine Pflicht tun.“

Bernard Gert: Die moralischen Regeln. Eine neue rationale Begründung der Moral, Frankfurt a. M. 1983,  S. 176


“The ten general moral rules listed below account for all of the kinds of actions that are morally prohibited or required. They make explicit that part of the moral system that informs moral agents if some excuse or justification is needed for their behavior. They are formulated to provide a clear and usable description of that part of the moral system.
1. Do not kill.
2. Do not cause pain.
3. Do not disable.
4. Do not deprive of freedom.
5. Do not deprive of pleasure.
6. Do not deceive.
7. Keep your promises.
8. Do not cheat.
9. Obey the law.
10. Do your duty.
All violations of any of these rules without adequate justification are immoral actions. Given the appropriate interpretations, these rules also prohibit all immoral actions.”

Bernard Gert: Common Morality. Deciding What to Do, Oxford 2004, S. 20.
Vgl. Bernard Gert: Morality. Its Nature and Justification, Oxford 1998, S. 216

Bibliographie zu Bernard Gerts moralischer Theorie (PDF)